Board of Discussants

Scholars Who Provide Feedback on FPS Articles


As a weekly online publication, First Person Scholar has always embraced timeliness in respect to publishing articles. Now we can add timeliness in respect to feedback as well. With our newly established Board of Discussants, contributors can expect a response from a discussant versed in the subject matter of their article. The Board itself is comprised of over twenty game studies scholars from Canada, U.S., U.K., and New Zealand that will provide thoughtful, constructive feedback on the essays and commentaries we publish.

This is part of our larger commitment to middle-state publishing that seeks to seize the affordances of online media. Whereas traditional publishing incurs lengthy delays and protracted responses that ultimately discourage collaboration and critical discussion, Discussants will initiate the generation of feedback immediately after publication. This results in an increase in opportunities: an opportunity for our contributors to have their ideas engaged with by some of the most prominent scholars in our discipline, an opportunity  for our readers to join a scholarly conversation, and an opportunity for us to create a hub where the study of games is sustained, collaborative, and generative. The first articles to be published under this new platform were posted in mid-January 2014.

Board of Discussants

Dominic Arsenault – Art History and Film Studies, University of Montréal

Diane Carr – Culture, Communication and Media, University of London

Mia Consalvo – Communication Studies, Concordia University

Garry Crawford – Sociology and Criminology, University of Salford

Negin Dahya- Information School in the field of Digital Youth, University of Washington

James Gee – Curriculum and Instruction, Arizona State University

Seth Giddings – Digital Culture & Design, University of Southampton

Jennifer Jenson – Education, York University

Graeme Kirkpatrick – Social Sciences, University of Manchester

Tanya Krzywinska – Digital Games, Falmouth University

David J. Leonard – Critical Culture, Gender, & Race Studies, Washington State University

Henry Lowood – Film & Media Collections, Stanford University

Bonnie Nardi – Informatics, University of California, Irvine

Chris Paul – Communication, Seattle University

Bernard Perron – Art and Film Studies, Université de Montréal

Greig de Peuter – Communication Studies, Wilfrid Laurier University

Neil Randall – English Language and Literature, University of Waterloo

Marie-Laure Ryan – Independent Scholar

Adrienne Shaw – Media Studies and Production, Temple University

Nick Taylor – Communication, North Carolina State University

Grant Tavinor – Environment, Society & Design, Lincoln University

Roger Travis – Literatures, Cultures & Languages, University of Connecticut

Gerald Voorhees – Drama and Speech Communications, University of Waterloo

Zach Whalen – English, Linguistics & Communication, University of Mary Washington

Mark J.P. Wolf – Communication, Concordia University Wisconsin

Jose Zagal – Computing and Digital Media, DePaul University

Jesper Juul – The School of Design, The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts & Visiting Associate Professor at Comparative Media Studies/Writing, MIT

Martin Picard – Center for East Asian Studies, Université de Montréal

Luke Cuddy – Philosophy, Southwestern College in Chula Vista

Karen Schrier Department of Media Arts, Co-Director Games and Emerging Media program Director, Play Innovation Lab Marist College

Austin Michael Media, Journalism and Film, Howard University

One Comment

Comments are closed.